top of page

How To Find Someone Special


According to a poll in a Glamour magazine, the average woman will kiss about 30 people before she gets married. That sounds about right to me. Dating is a numbers game. You've gotta kiss a lot of frogs before you find your prince (or princess). If you check your horoscope, you're probably not going to meet someone tall, dark, and handsome if you never leave your room.

Since I'm happily married, I haven't dated anyone new in over 5 years, but I still remember how fun and frustrating dating could be. Most of the people I dated I met through school. Some of the people that I dated I met through friends, clubs, and hobbies. I even made some friends through dating websites. Other people have had success meeting people through church or some other house of worship. In order to go on dates I had to put myself out there either physically or virtually.

Figure out what you want and need from a partner. You might not know what you want until you date a few people with traits that don't work with your personality. Sometimes two people who are otherwise compatible have trouble making a relationship work simply because they want different things in life. Look for healthy relationships and avoid unhealthy ones. See non-abusive vs. abusive traits below.

Have high standards (you deserve to live free from abuse) while setting realistic expectations. There's no such thing as a Mr. or Ms. Right. If you find someone who is 100% Right according to what you think you want, there's no guarantee that you're 100% Right for them. You can be pretty happy and have a satisfying relationship with someone who is Mr. or Ms. 80% Right.

Last but not least, love yourself. Get to know, like, and trust yourself. Take yourself out on dates. Learn to enjoy the single life and you'll come across as more confident. If you make your life fulfilling, relying on yourself and staying connected with friends and/or family, you're more likely to attract someone special. Have fun!

bottom of page